NG Dana Wells, Arizona. 1987 and 1988

Home/Past Winners/Players/NG Dana Wells, Arizona. 1987 and 1988

DanaWells is one of eight players to win the Morris Trophy twice and the first of five defensive players to do so.  (Other defensive players: Steve Emtman, Sedrick Ellis, Stephen Paea, and Will Sutton.) Wells clogged the middle of Arizona’s defense for four years from 1985 to 1988. He was a first-team All-Pac-10 pick in both his junior and senior seasons, and finished his career with 253 tackles and 18 sacks, with 31 tackles for loss. He was drafted by the Cincinnati Bengals in the 11th round of the 1989 NFL Draft and played for one year in the league. He is ranked 37th on the list of the top 50 players in Arizona history. In 2014 he returned to Seattle as the featured speaker at the Morris Trophy lunch.