Winners of the Morris Trophy are selected by receiving the highest number of votes from opposing players. The process begins with each PAC-12 Head Football Coach submitting the names of the top two offensive and defensive linemen on their team to the Morris Trophy office. A ballot is then created and distributed to opposing players in the conference. A maximum of 8 defensive linemen and 10 offensive linemen from each team vote for the best player each has played against during the current season. Votes are compiled after the PAC-12 season and winners are announced in mid-December.